Understand your actions
What happens when you perform actions in documents, forms, workflows and notifications?
Last updated
Document
Action | What happens |
|---|
Add a document to your intray | The document is converted into PDF format, if it is not already in PDF format. The document stays in your intray until you index it or delete it. The document can be edited in your intray before indexing.
|
Index a document | The document is added to the DocMX system. It is categorised by document type. Tags (i.e. important data based on the document type) are added. e.g. dates, invoice total. The document is moved to a location based on the document type and tags. The workflow starts (if a workflow exists for the document type).
|
Change document type | It is categorised under a different document type. All previous tags are removed. New tags based on the new document type are added. The document is moved to a location based on the new document type and metadata tags. Note: The workflow needs to be restarted
|
Linking documents | Anchors are placed on both documents. Clicking on one anchor will show the other anchor position on the other document.
|
Action | What happens |
|---|
Submit | The form is added to the DocMX system. It is categorised by document type. Tags (i.e. important data based on the document type) are added. e.g. dates, invoice total. The form is moved to a location based on the document type and tags. The workflow starts (if a workflow exists for the document type).
|
Workflow
Action | What happens |
|---|
Start workflow | If it is a workflow restart, all tasks from the previous workflow are removed. New tasks will be created based on the document type. New task notifications are sent. The status is changed to reflect the workflow stage.
|
Approve | The workflow moves forward to the next step. New task notifications are sent. The status is changed to reflect the workflow stage.
|
Reject | The workflow normally moves back to one of the previous steps. New task notifications are sent. The status is changed to reflect the workflow stage.
|
Cancel | The workflow is terminated. The status is changed to “Cancelled“.
|
Complete | The workflow is completed. The status is changed to “Complete“.
|
Notifications
Action | What happens |
|---|
New task (triggered by start workflow) | User(s) will be notified within the web app and by email. |
@mention someone in a document | User(s) will be notified within the web app and by email. |
Nudge the user(s) of the current workflow task | An anonymous reminder is sent to the user(s) within the web app and by email. |